Renseignements en français

Google Translate Disclaimer

A number of pages on the Government of Saskatchewan`s web site have been professionally translated in French. These translations are identified by a yellow text box that resembles the link below and can be found in the right hand rail of the page. The home page for French-language content on this site can be found here:

Renseignements en Français

Where an official translation is not available, Google™ Translate can be used. Google™ Translate is a free online language translation service that can translate text and web pages into different languages. Translations are made available to increase access to Government of Saskatchewan content for populations whose first language is not English.

The results of software-based translation do not approach the fluency of a native speaker or possess the skill of a professional translator. The translation should not be considered exact, and may include incorrect or offensive language Government of Saskatchewan does not warrant the accuracy, reliability or timeliness of any information translated by this system. Some files or items cannot be translated, including graphs, photos, and other file formats such as portable document formats (PDFs).

Any person or entities that rely on information obtained from the system does so at his or her own risk. Government of Saskatchewan is not responsible for any damage or issues that may possibly result from using translated website content. If you have any questions about Google™ Translate, please visit: Google™ Translate FAQs.

Council of the Federation Literacy Award

The Council of the Federation Literacy Award was created in 2004 by Canada's Premiers to recognize outstanding achievement, innovation and excellence in literacy in each of Canada's provinces and territories. The award is presented annually in each jurisdiction to an individual or organization that gives a significant amount of time, knowledge or expertise to assist learners, communities or organizations.

The 2016 call for nominations is now open. Saskatchewan residents aged 18 and above are invited to nominate a community organization worthy of this award. This year's nomination deadline is June 3, 2016.

The guidelines for the nominations and application forms are available at the bottom of this page.


1. Guidance

The Saskatchewan recipient of the 2016 Council of the Federation Literacy Award will be presented with an inscribed medallion, a certificate and a gift certificate of $300.

An independent selection committee will review the nominations and select the award recipient.


2. Eligibility


  • be a not-for-profit organization registered in Saskatchewan that has demonstrated leadership in developing and/or implementing literacy initiatives benefiting learners, families, workers and/or communities in Saskatchewan; and
  • provide consent to the nomination.
  • Anyone may nominate a not-for-profit organization for the 2016 Council of the Federation Literacy Award (Saskatchewan).
  • The nominator must submit a completed nomination form and provide all supporting documentation according to nomination guidelines.

3. How To Apply

The Council of the Federation announces a call for nominations each spring.  You will need to provide the Literacy Office with:

  1. A completed nomination form including signatures;
  2. The nominee’s account of literacy initiatives and/or actions taken, and impact the organization has had on advancing literacy in Saskatchewan;
  3. Two letters of support that describe why the organization should receive the award. The letters could include specific examples of:
    • initiatives the organization has undertaken to advance literacy in Saskatchewan (i.e., through public awareness, program development service delivery, innovation, research), and description of impacts of these initiatives;
    • other awards and recognition received; and
    • additional supporting evidence such as copies of newspaper articles, portfolios and items that provide evidence of a nominee’s leadership and commitment to literacy.
  4. Send the completed application package (electronically or by regular mail) to:

    The COF Literacy Award Selection Committee
    Literacy Office Ministry of Education
    409A Park Street
    Regina, Saskatchewan S4N 5B2

5. Further Information

Previous Saskatchewan Council of the Federation Literacy Award recipients are:
  • 2015 - READ Saskatoon, Inc., a community based organization that has been providing adult and family literacy programming for over 35 years
  • 2014 - Edith Klassen, a volunteer literacy tutor who helps newcomers to the Lanigan area learn English
  • 2013 – Phyllis Jones, a volunteer literacy tutor committed to helping adult learners achieve their goals
  • 2012 - Gordon Li, a literacy learner dedicated to helping others achieve their literacy goals
  • 2011 - Dr. Wei He, a literacy learner in Regina
  • 2010 – Kim Newlove, a K-12 educator and literacy leader from Saskatoon
  • 2009 – Dr. Margaret Lipp, former Literacy Commissioner and accomplished educator, administrator and literacy advocate from Regina
  • 2008 – Irene Jacques, a First Nations Elder and literacy leader from Standing Buffalo First Nation, noted for promoting and establishing Aboriginal Literacy initiatives provincially and federally
  • 2007 – Colleen Christopherson-Coté, a community literacy leader from Coronach
  • 2006 – Carey Rigby-Wilcox, community literacy volunteer and children’s author from Saskatoon
  • 2005 – Lynda Richards, literacy learner and entrepreneur from Swift Current

Additional information about the awards can be found on The Council of the Federation website.

We need your feedback to improve Help us improve