Google Translate Disclaimer

A number of pages on the Government of Saskatchewan's website have been professionally translated in French. These translations are identified by a yellow box in the right or left rail that resembles the link below. The home page for French-language content on this site can be found at:

Renseignements en Français

Where an official translation is not available, Google™ Translate can be used. Google™ Translate is a free online language translation service that can translate text and web pages into different languages. Translations are made available to increase access to Government of Saskatchewan content for populations whose first language is not English.

Software-based translations do not approach the fluency of a native speaker or possess the skill of a professional translator. The translation should not be considered exact, and may include incorrect or offensive language. The Government of Saskatchewan does not warrant the accuracy, reliability or timeliness of any information translated by this system. Some files or items cannot be translated, including graphs, photos and other file formats such as portable document formats (PDFs).

Any person or entities that rely on information obtained from the system does so at his or her own risk. Government of Saskatchewan is not responsible for any damage or issues that may possibly result from using translated website content. If you have any questions about Google™ Translate, please visit: Google™ Translate FAQs.

Treaty Land and Entitlements

The Government of Saskatchewan is working with Canada and the province’s First Nations to resolve outstanding Treaty land obligations. 


1. Treaty Areas

The federal government and First Nations signed Treaties 2, 4, 5, 6, 8 and 10 between 1871 and 1906 in the area that is now Saskatchewan. The map link below shows the areas covered by the six numbered Treaties. A key component of these Treaties is the allocation of reserve land to First Nations people.


2. Treaty Land Entitlement

It has been formally recognized by the provincial and federal governments that 33 Saskatchewan First Nations did not receive the amount of land they were promised under the Treaties. While First Nations and the land reserved for them are a federal responsibility under the terms of the Natural Resources Transfer Agreement, 1930 the provincial government is obligated to help fulfil the federal government's outstanding Treaty land entitlements (TLEs).

In 1992, the provincial and federal governments and 25 First Nations signed the Saskatchewan Treaty Land Entitlement Framework Agreement. It established a framework to address outstanding TLE obligations. Eight subsequent TLE agreements with individual First Nations have since been signed.

The TLE agreements are comprehensive. Part of the provincial government's role in implementing the TLE agreements is to ensure that any provincial third-party interests are identified and resolved prior to reserve creation.


3. Specific Claims

Specific claims relate to First Nations' grievances with the federal government for not fulfilling its lawful obligations under historic treaties and/or the way it managed First Nations' funds or assets. The federal government resolves these claims by negotiating specific claim settlement agreements with First Nations. Although the provincial government is not a signatory to these agreements it works with the federal government to facilitate any additional reserve creation arising from specific claim settlement agreements that contain a land component.

We need your feedback to improve Help us improve