Effective July 11, 2021, Saskatchewan entered Step Three of the Re-Opening Roadmap and the public health order relative to COVID-19 was lifted. All restrictions related to the public health order were removed as of that date.

Renseignements en français

Google Translate Disclaimer

A number of pages on the Government of Saskatchewan's website have been professionally translated in French. These translations are identified by a yellow box in the right or left rail that resembles the link below. The home page for French-language content on this site can be found at:

Renseignements en Français

Where an official translation is not available, Google™ Translate can be used. Google™ Translate is a free online language translation service that can translate text and web pages into different languages. Translations are made available to increase access to Government of Saskatchewan content for populations whose first language is not English.

Software-based translations do not approach the fluency of a native speaker or possess the skill of a professional translator. The translation should not be considered exact, and may include incorrect or offensive language. The Government of Saskatchewan does not warrant the accuracy, reliability or timeliness of any information translated by this system. Some files or items cannot be translated, including graphs, photos and other file formats such as portable document formats (PDFs).

Any person or entities that rely on information obtained from the system does so at his or her own risk. Government of Saskatchewan is not responsible for any damage or issues that may possibly result from using translated website content. If you have any questions about Google™ Translate, please visit: Google™ Translate FAQs.

Youth Council

Students are the centre of Saskatchewan's education system and their voices play an important role in shaping it. The mandate of the 2020-21 Youth Council is to present the Minister of Education with advice and insights on topics of interest to today's students in connection with the four pillars of the new provincial education plan.

Members of the provincial Youth Council work directly with the Minister of Education and other government officials to identify issues and topics of importance related to the key elements of the provincial education plan, which include:

  • skills and knowledge for future learning, life and participation in society;
  • mental health and well-being;
  • connections among people and relationships between systems and structures; and,
  • inclusive, safe and welcoming learning environments. 

Youth Council members will have an important role in providing the Minister of Education advice and insights that contribute to the vision of education in Saskatchewan.

2020-21 Youth Council Members

The 2020-21 Youth Council consists of 12 students in grades 11-12 from different Saskatchewan school divisions, who will serve for a one school year term:

  • Megan Betteridge, Prairie Valley School Division
  • Jay Boll, South East Cornerstone School Division
  • Peyton Chandler, Northern Lights School Division
  • Lily Constantino, St. Paul's Catholic Separate School Division
  • Dahnis Duquette, Prairie Spirit School Division
  • Jan Ferrer, Regina Catholic Separate School Division
  • Joshua Javier, Christ the Teacher Catholic School Division
  • Emily Mamer, Horizon School Division
  • Tia-Lee McCallum, Saskatchewan Rivers School Division
  • Ashley Packet, Prairie South School Division
  • Reece Tastad, Sun West School Division
  • Logan Taylor, Saskatoon Public School Division

"I am honoured to be a member of the Youth Council alongside a talented group of people to make a change for future learning in Saskatchewan. This is a wonderful opportunity to better understand the strengths of our current education system, but also to provide insight on how we can better advocate for solutions to the relevant issues we currently face. I am looking forward to being a part of this amazing initiative!"

- Ashley Packet, 2020-21 Youth Council member

More information about each of the 2020-21 Youth Council members can be found in their biographies.

Get to know your Youth Council

We need your feedback to improve saskatchewan.ca. Help us improve