Google Translate Disclaimer

A number of pages on the Government of Saskatchewan's website have been professionally translated in French. These translations are identified by a yellow box in the right or left rail that resembles the link below. The home page for French-language content on this site can be found at:

Renseignements en Français

Where an official translation is not available, Google™ Translate can be used. Google™ Translate is a free online language translation service that can translate text and web pages into different languages. Translations are made available to increase access to Government of Saskatchewan content for populations whose first language is not English.

Software-based translations do not approach the fluency of a native speaker or possess the skill of a professional translator. The translation should not be considered exact, and may include incorrect or offensive language. The Government of Saskatchewan does not warrant the accuracy, reliability or timeliness of any information translated by this system. Some files or items cannot be translated, including graphs, photos and other file formats such as portable document formats (PDFs).

Any person or entities that rely on information obtained from the system does so at his or her own risk. Government of Saskatchewan is not responsible for any damage or issues that may possibly result from using translated website content. If you have any questions about Google™ Translate, please visit: Google™ Translate FAQs.

Saskatchewan Volunteer Medal Recipients Announced

Released on August 18, 2021

Today, Lieutenant Governor Russ Mirasty announced the recipients of the Saskatchewan Volunteer Medal.  The recipients will be presented this prestigious medal on August 26, 2021, at a ceremony held in their honour at Government House in Regina.

"The Saskatchewan Volunteer Medal acknowledges the exceptional contributions made by these generous and capable individuals," Lieutenant Governor Mirasty said.  "I offer my congratulations and thanks to each recipient on this well-deserved honour."

The recipients of the 2020 Saskatchewan Volunteer Medal are:

  • Lieutenant-Colonel (Ret'd) Robert Cade, CD (posthumous), Regina
  • Anne Chase, Regina
  • Peggy George, Melfort
  • Derek Harrison, Fort Qu'Appelle
  • Ken Hartz, Bradwell
  • Eileen Herman, Qu'Appelle
  • Frank McDougall, Saskatoon
  • Jean de Dieu Ndayahundwa, Regina
  • Leela Sharma, Saskatoon
  • Lorraine Silzer, Assiniboia
  • Richard Strayer, Saskatoon
  • Bernice Woolhouse, Assiniboia

The Saskatchewan Volunteer Medal was established in 1995 to recognize the extraordinary work done by volunteers across the province.  Since its creation, the Saskatchewan Volunteer Medal has been awarded to 228 deserving individuals.

For more information about the Saskatchewan Volunteer Medal, visit

- 30 -  

For more information, contact:

Diane Robinson
Intergovernmental Affairs
Phone: 306-787-1077

We need your feedback to improve Help us improve