Google Translate Disclaimer

A number of pages on the Government of Saskatchewan's website have been professionally translated in French. These translations are identified by a yellow box in the right or left rail that resembles the link below. The home page for French-language content on this site can be found at:

Renseignements en Français

Where an official translation is not available, Google™ Translate can be used. Google™ Translate is a free online language translation service that can translate text and web pages into different languages. Translations are made available to increase access to Government of Saskatchewan content for populations whose first language is not English.

Software-based translations do not approach the fluency of a native speaker or possess the skill of a professional translator. The translation should not be considered exact, and may include incorrect or offensive language. The Government of Saskatchewan does not warrant the accuracy, reliability or timeliness of any information translated by this system. Some files or items cannot be translated, including graphs, photos and other file formats such as portable document formats (PDFs).

Any person or entities that rely on information obtained from the system does so at his or her own risk. Government of Saskatchewan is not responsible for any damage or issues that may possibly result from using translated website content. If you have any questions about Google™ Translate, please visit: Google™ Translate FAQs.

30th Annual Saskatchewan Tourism Awards Celebrated

Released on April 12, 2019

Saskatchewan’s tourism sector honoured businesses and individuals at the 30th annual Saskatchewan Tourism Awards of Excellence Gala, which was celebrated in Saskatoon on April 11 at TCU Place.

“This is a special occasion celebrating the 30th annual Saskatchewan Tourism Awards of Excellence,” Minister Responsible for Tourism Saskatchewan Gene Makowsky said.  “The Government of Saskatchewan extends congratulations to the award recipients and finalists, and to the Tourism Builders honoured.  Their hard work contributes to authentic, remarkable visitor experiences that make Saskatchewan a great place to visit.”

“Tourism Saskatchewan is exceedingly proud of the effort that has made the Saskatchewan Tourism Awards of Excellence a 30-year success story,” Tourism Saskatchewan CEO Mary Taylor-Ash said.  “We take even greater pride in the work of our industry.  These awards showcase tourism operators and businesses that epitomize hospitality and leadership.  They inspire others to dream big and pursue their goals with unwavering determination.  Tourism Saskatchewan is delighted to celebrate their achievements.”

The winners of the Saskatchewan Tourism Awards of Excellence for 2018 are:

  • Rookie of the Year Award
    Sponsored by the Saskatchewan Roughrider Football Club
    Wheatland Express, Cudworth/Wakaw

  • Service Excellence Award
    Sponsored by the Saskatchewan Chamber of Commerce
    Harvest Eatery, Shaunavon

  • Tourism Employee of the Year Award
    Sponsored by Harvard Broadcasting
    Brenda Peterson, Parks Canada, Grasslands National Park

  • Tourism Employer of the Year Award
    Sponsored by Regina Airport Authority
    Gold Eagle Casino, Saskatchewan Indian Gaming Authority, North Battleford

  • Gil Carduner Marketing Award
    Sponsored by Phoenix Group
    Kinder Surprises Antiques, Davidson

  • Fred Heal Tourism Ambassador Award
    Sponsored by Wanuskewin Heritage Park
    Watrous Manitou Marketing Group, Watrous

  • Travel Media Award
    Sponsored by Vendasta
    Robin and Arlene Karpan, Saskatoon

  • Indigenous Tourism Experience Award
    Sponsored by Saskatchewan Indian Institute of Technologies
    Wanuskewin Heritage Park, Saskatoon

  • Community Event of the Year Award
    Sponsored by the Saskatchewan Arts Board
    Taste of Maple Creek Festival, Maple Creek

  • Marquee Event of the Year Award
    Sponsored by CTV
    2018 WBSC Junior Men’s World Softball Championship, Prince Albert

  • Business of the Year Award (Under 20 Full-time Employees)
    Sponsored by the Saskatchewan Indian Gaming Authority
    Over the Hill Orchards and Winery, Lumsden

  • Business of the Year Award (More than 20 Full-time Employees)
    Sponsored by Insightrix Research
    Regina Exhibition Association Limited, Regina

  • Tourism Builder Award
    Sponsored by Tourism Saskatchewan
    Randy Fernets, Saskatoon Scott Ford, Saskatoon Shann Gowan, Swift Current

Detailed information on each category winner is available at


For more information, contact:

Elizabeth Braitenbach
Tourism Saskatchewan
Phone: 306-787-5530
Cell: 306-529-0162

We need your feedback to improve Help us improve