Google Translate Disclaimer

A number of pages on the Government of Saskatchewan`s web site have been professionally translated in French. These translations are identified by a yellow text box that resembles the link below and can be found in the right hand rail of the page. The home page for French-language content on this site can be found here:

Renseignements en Français

Where an official translation is not available, Google™ Translate can be used. Google™ Translate is a free online language translation service that can translate text and web pages into different languages. Translations are made available to increase access to Government of Saskatchewan content for populations whose first language is not English.

The results of software-based translation do not approach the fluency of a native speaker or possess the skill of a professional translator. The translation should not be considered exact, and may include incorrect or offensive language Government of Saskatchewan does not warrant the accuracy, reliability or timeliness of any information translated by this system. Some files or items cannot be translated, including graphs, photos, and other file formats such as portable document formats (PDFs).

Any person or entities that rely on information obtained from the system does so at his or her own risk. Government of Saskatchewan is not responsible for any damage or issues that may possibly result from using translated website content. If you have any questions about Google™ Translate, please visit: Google™ Translate FAQs.

Eight Saskatchewan Volunteer Medal Recipients Announced on Honour’s 20th Anniversary

Released on March 25, 2015

Estevan, Fort Qu’Appelle, North Battleford, Outlook, Prince Albert, Regina and Saskatoon are home to the newest recipients of the Saskatchewan Volunteer Medal, as the provincial honour marks its 20th anniversary this year.

"Truly the best part of my job is that every day, I get to meet Saskatchewan volunteers,” Lieutenant Governor Vaughn Solomon Schofield said.  "These latest recipients of the Saskatchewan Volunteer Medal stand out in a province that stands out.  Their collective impact is, quite frankly, immeasurable.  I am grateful to each of them for their outstanding service and I congratulate them on this well-deserved honour.”

The medal recognizes an outstanding volunteer or someone who exemplifies exceptional community involvement.  The 2014 recipients are:
  • John Barton – Saskatoon
  • Tina Bird – Estevan
  • Marnie Eistetter – Regina
  • Ray Fox – North Battleford
  • Don McDonald – Saskatoon
  • Harold Ross – Fort Qu’Appelle
  • Edith Slatnik – Outlook
  • Darren Whitehead – Prince Albert
“Congratulations to these remarkable men and women for this achievement,” Premier Brad Wall said.  “As the heart and soul of our neighbourhoods and communities, volunteers make positive things happen each and every day, which improves our quality of life and truly makes Saskatchewan a better place.”

The Saskatchewan Volunteer Medal program was launched in 1995 with the first recipients presented their medals the next year.

The medal itself was designed by Jack Glasser of Regina, who was selected through a province-wide competition in 1994.  The medal is silver, circular in form and suspended by a V-shaped clasp from a ribbon of green and gold, the provincial colours.  It also has the Saskatchewan Shield of Arms, the Crown and a motto reading in Latin, “Nos ipsos dedimus,” which means, “We gave of ourselves.”

The Lieutenant Governor will present the medals to the newest eight recipients in April in Regina.  Following that ceremony, a total of 174 people will have received this provincial honour.  Saskatchewan has the highest rate of volunteerism in Canada.


For more information, contact:

Dan Palmer
Intergovernmental Affairs
Phone: 306-787-2155

We need your feedback to improve Help us improve