Google Translate Disclaimer

A number of pages on the Government of Saskatchewan's website have been professionally translated in French. These translations are identified by a yellow box in the right or left rail that resembles the link below. The home page for French-language content on this site can be found at:

Renseignements en Français

Where an official translation is not available, Google™ Translate can be used. Google™ Translate is a free online language translation service that can translate text and web pages into different languages. Translations are made available to increase access to Government of Saskatchewan content for populations whose first language is not English.

Software-based translations do not approach the fluency of a native speaker or possess the skill of a professional translator. The translation should not be considered exact, and may include incorrect or offensive language. The Government of Saskatchewan does not warrant the accuracy, reliability or timeliness of any information translated by this system. Some files or items cannot be translated, including graphs, photos and other file formats such as portable document formats (PDFs).

Any person or entities that rely on information obtained from the system does so at his or her own risk. Government of Saskatchewan is not responsible for any damage or issues that may possibly result from using translated website content. If you have any questions about Google™ Translate, please visit: Google™ Translate FAQs.

Group of Eleven Will Help Reduce Poverty

Released on December 22, 2014

An 11-member Advisory Group on Poverty Reduction was announced in Saskatoon by Social Services Minister Donna Harpauer.

“This group will be responsible for reviewing all of the work we’ve done to address poverty in Saskatchewan and identify any gaps where more work is needed,” Harpauer said.  “I look forward to seeing their recommendations this spring as we continue to make life better for all Saskatchewan people.”

"I am honoured to act as a co-chair for the Advisory Group on Poverty Reduction,” Saskatoon Food Bank Director of Community Operations Alison Robertson said.  “I look forward to bringing the community voice to the conversation in development of a poverty reduction plan that makes sense for Saskatchewan.”

The members of the advisory group will consist of six representatives from the community and five representatives from various government ministries.  The members of the group are:
  • Dr. Cory Neudorf – Chief Medical Health Officer, Saskatoon Health Region
  • Alison Robertson (co-chair) – Director of Community Development, Saskatoon Food Bank
  • Dr. Ryan Meili – Physician, WestSide Community Clinic and Student Wellness Initiative Toward Community Health (SWITCH)
  • Russ Mirasty – Retired RCMP Commanding Officer in Saskatchewan
  • Steve Compton – Chief Executive Officer, Regina Food Bank
  • Dr. Jo-Ann Episkenew – Director, Indigenous Peoples’ Health Research Centre
  • Constance Hourie (co-chair) – Assistant Deputy Minister, Income Assistance and Corporate Planning, Ministry of Social Services
  • Alastair MacFadden – Assistant Deputy Minister, Labour Market Development, Ministry of Economy
  • Greg Miller – Assistant Deputy Minister, Ministry of Education
  • Ron Anderson – Assistant Deputy Minister, Community Safety Outcomes and Corporate Services, Ministry of Justice/Corrections and Policing
  • Karen Lautsch – Assistant Deputy Minister, Ministry of Health
In addition to their research, the advisory group will be holding a poverty roundtable with community groups and the public and will provide their recommendations to government in May of 2015.  The group’s recommendations will help inform the development of the Saskatchewan Poverty Reduction Strategy.

For more information about the Advisory Group or the Poverty Reduction Strategy, please email


For more information, contact:

Andrew Dinsmore
Social Services
Phone: 306-787-8689

We need your feedback to improve Help us improve