Google Translate Disclaimer

A number of pages on the Government of Saskatchewan`s web site have been professionally translated in French. These translations are identified by a yellow text box that resembles the link below and can be found in the right hand rail of the page. The home page for French-language content on this site can be found here:

Renseignements en Français

Where an official translation is not available, Google™ Translate can be used. Google™ Translate is a free online language translation service that can translate text and web pages into different languages. Translations are made available to increase access to Government of Saskatchewan content for populations whose first language is not English.

The results of software-based translation do not approach the fluency of a native speaker or possess the skill of a professional translator. The translation should not be considered exact, and may include incorrect or offensive language Government of Saskatchewan does not warrant the accuracy, reliability or timeliness of any information translated by this system. Some files or items cannot be translated, including graphs, photos, and other file formats such as portable document formats (PDFs).

Any person or entities that rely on information obtained from the system does so at his or her own risk. Government of Saskatchewan is not responsible for any damage or issues that may possibly result from using translated website content. If you have any questions about Google™ Translate, please visit: Google™ Translate FAQs.

Government Introduces Legislation to Create Teacher Regulatory Board

Released on December 3, 2014

Education Minister Don Morgan has introduced The Registered Teachers Act to establish the Saskatchewan Professional Teachers Regulatory Board (SPTRB).  The board will be responsible for teacher certification and discipline in Saskatchewan.
Currently, the Ministry of Education is responsible for certification.  Discipline processes are administered by the Saskatchewan Teachers’ Federation (STF), the League of Educational Administrators, Directors and Superintendents of Saskatchewan (LEADS) and the Ministry of Education.

“This legislation is a major step toward the creation of one professionally-led, self-regulated body for the teaching profession in Saskatchewan,” Morgan said.  “The board will operate in the best interests of students, families, teachers and the public, and will be committed to the safety of all students and the integrity of all teachers.”

The SPTRB will be governed by a nine-person board of directors which will be comprised of seven registered teachers and two members of the public.

Once established, the board will oversee teacher certification and discipline related to misconduct or incompetence.  Government initiated this change to provide Saskatchewan teachers with the same authority and responsibility as other self-regulated professions in the province, resulting in a more transparent and clear process.

“This is a uniquely Saskatchewan solution that strengthens the current system and safeguards the interests of students and the public,” STF Executive Director Gwen Dueck said.  “The process of creating this new board has served to bring greater understanding of the need to continue and build on the long-standing, collaborative relationships within the education sector in Saskatchewan.  As partners in education, we have worked to maintain our shared responsibility for the broader system of teacher regulation.”

In early 2015, the Ministry of Education, STF,  LEADS, the Saskatchewan School Boards Association and the Federation of Saskatchewan Indian Nations, will establish an interim board of directors that will develop the bylaws and structure of the SPTRB.

The SPRTB is expected to be in operation by fall 2015 and the interim board of directors in place by spring 2015.


For more information, contact:

Kelly Johnston
Phone: 306-787-1069
Cell: 309-533-7506

We need your feedback to improve Help us improve