Google Translate Disclaimer

A number of pages on the Government of Saskatchewan`s web site have been professionally translated in French. These translations are identified by a yellow text box that resembles the link below and can be found in the right hand rail of the page. The home page for French-language content on this site can be found here:

Renseignements en Français

Where an official translation is not available, Google™ Translate can be used. Google™ Translate is a free online language translation service that can translate text and web pages into different languages. Translations are made available to increase access to Government of Saskatchewan content for populations whose first language is not English.

The results of software-based translation do not approach the fluency of a native speaker or possess the skill of a professional translator. The translation should not be considered exact, and may include incorrect or offensive language Government of Saskatchewan does not warrant the accuracy, reliability or timeliness of any information translated by this system. Some files or items cannot be translated, including graphs, photos, and other file formats such as portable document formats (PDFs).

Any person or entities that rely on information obtained from the system does so at his or her own risk. Government of Saskatchewan is not responsible for any damage or issues that may possibly result from using translated website content. If you have any questions about Google™ Translate, please visit: Google™ Translate FAQs.

Municipal Revenue Sharing

In 2018-19, the Government of Saskatchewan will distribute nearly $241.1 million to municipalities in municipal revenue sharing. This is the equivalent of one full point of Provincial Sales Tax (from 2016-17 Public Accounts).

This commitment represents a $114 million increase, 89 per cent, over 2007-08. This level of commitment aligns with the Government of Saskatchewan's promise to develop a long-term revenue sharing plan with the municipal sector that is linked to the performance of the province's economy.

For 2018-19, $115.351 million or 47.945 per cent is allocated to the cities, $39.324 million or 16.345 per cent to towns, villages and resort villages, $67.976 million or 28.254 per cent to rural municipalities, and $17.938 million or 7.456 per cent to northern communities.

Breakdown by Pool

Below, the breakdown by pools includes revenue sharing commitments for the last eleven years for the urban pool (cities, towns, villages and resort villages); the rural pool (rural municipalities and organized hamlets); and the northern pool (northern municipalities). Numbers are in millions and rounded to the nearest two decimals.

2007-08 2008-09 2009-10 2010-11 2011-12 2012-13
Urban $67.45 $77.94 $107.13 $107.13 $138.75 $151.94
$49.63 $61.58 $48.55 $48.55 $62.87 $68.84
$10.18 $11.04 $11.72 $11.72 $15.18 $16.62
Total $127.26 $150.56 $167.40 $167.40 $216.80 $237.40

  2013-14 2014-15 2015-16 2016-17 2017-18 2018-19
$170.00 $165.21 $170.55 $174.45 $165.54 $154.67
$74.71 $72.61 $74.95 $76.66 $72.75 $67.98
$19.72 $19.16 $19.78 $20.23 $19.20 $17.94
$264.43 $256.98 $265.2 $271.34** $257.49** $240.59**

All figures are based on budgeted amounts. 

*Includes conditional road and bridge funding, and Primary Weight Corridor funding in 2007-08 and 2008-09, as well as Communities in Transition (CIT) capital. These programs with the exception of CIT, have been transferred to the Ministry of Highways and Infrastructure.

**Beginning in 2016-17, a portion of Municipal Revenue Sharing will be used to offset costs associated with expanding Ombudsman Saskatchewan’s jurisdiction to include municipalities and municipal matters ($300,000 in 2016-17 and 2017-18 and $501,716 in 2018-19).

Urban Municipalities


The 2018-19 distribution for the cities is $176.08 per capita based on the 2016 census populations.

Towns, Villages and Resort Villages

The 2018-19 distribution for the towns, villages and resort villages is a $2,025 base amount, plus $198.26 per capita based on the 2016 census populations. 

Rural Municipalities

There are three components to the Rural Revenue Sharing grant as follows:

1. Unconditional Grants

In consultation with the Saskatchewan Association of Rural Municipalities (SARM) the Rural Revenue Sharing distribution formula was updated in the Ministry's 2011-12 fiscal year beginning April 1, 2011. The formula incorporates similar features to the former formula, but is more reliable and includes some essential enhanced features. The formula bases the grant on a combination of transportation/roads related data (70 per cent) similar to the past and a per capita amount calculated using the most current available Canada Census figures (30 per cent). The formula enables Rural Municipalities (RMs) to better predict their Revenue Sharing grant for the next year allowing for improved planning and budgeting. The formula benefits growing RMs but also ensures that all RMs receive no less than their 2010-11 Revenue Sharing grant.

The Revenue Sharing grant for the Rural Municipality (RM) of Lakeland No. 521 will be calculated as an exception to the formula described above. The formula used for towns, villages and resort villages will apply and will still be paid from the RM funding pool. This formula was implemented to address the RM's similarities to urban municipalities relating to lack of rural roads relative to total population.

2. Organized Hamlet Grants

The 2018-19 distribution for organized hamlets is 60 per cent of the base amount for towns, villages and resort villages ($1,215) plus 60 per cent of the per capita amount for the towns, villages and resort villages ($118.95) based on the 2016 census populations.

As they are not incorporated, grants are paid to the rural municipality on behalf of the organized hamlets.

3. Conditional Rural Revenue Sharing Grants

Communities in Transition

We need your feedback to improve Help us improve