Google Translate Disclaimer

A number of pages on the Government of Saskatchewan`s web site have been professionally translated in French. These translations are identified by a yellow text box that resembles the link below and can be found in the right hand rail of the page. The home page for French-language content on this site can be found here:

Renseignements en Français

Where an official translation is not available, Google™ Translate can be used. Google™ Translate is a free online language translation service that can translate text and web pages into different languages. Translations are made available to increase access to Government of Saskatchewan content for populations whose first language is not English.

The results of software-based translation do not approach the fluency of a native speaker or possess the skill of a professional translator. The translation should not be considered exact, and may include incorrect or offensive language Government of Saskatchewan does not warrant the accuracy, reliability or timeliness of any information translated by this system. Some files or items cannot be translated, including graphs, photos, and other file formats such as portable document formats (PDFs).

Any person or entities that rely on information obtained from the system does so at his or her own risk. Government of Saskatchewan is not responsible for any damage or issues that may possibly result from using translated website content. If you have any questions about Google™ Translate, please visit: Google™ Translate FAQs.

Municipal Election Dates and Workshops

General elections for each office are held every four years. Rural municipalities hold an election for selected divisions every two years; however, each council members holds office for a four-year term. Upcoming municipal election dates are:

  • Wednesday, October 24, 2018 to elect councillors representing even-numbered divisions in rural municipalities;
  • Saturday, July 25, 2020 to elect mayor and councillors in resort villages;
  • Fall of 2020 to elect mayor and councillors for northern municipalities (contact your municipal office for exact date)
  • Wednesday, October 28, 2020 to elect mayor and councillors in urban municipalities (cities, towns, villages) and to elect reeves and councillors representing odd-number divisions in rural municipalities.

Residents may also vote in a municipal by-election to choose a new council member to fill a vacated office.


1. Election Workshops and Training


You can view two pre-recorded webinars that describe an Administrator’s responsibilities before a general election is held in a rural municipality, on election day itself, and after the election is held. These webinars are found on the Administrator Training Webinars page.

As well, the Rural Municipal Administrators’ Association (RMAA) and the Urban Municipal Administrators Association of Saskatchewan (UMAAS) often host workshops to learn about their duties in upcoming local government general elections. Visit their websites to see if any workshops are planned.

Newly Elected Officials

Municipal Leaders Roles and Responsibilities, otherwise known as Module 1 of the Municipal Leadership Development Program (MLDP) provides essential, current information to assist newly elected and veteran council members about council meetings and their role as policy decision-makers, employers, and community leaders.  

This module is delivered in conjunction with:

  • the Saskatchewan Urban Municipalities Association;
  • the Provincial Association of Resort Communities of Saskatchewan; and
  • the Saskatchewan Association of Rural Municipalities. 

More information on this and other modules can be found on the MLDP website


2. Election Results

As required under The Local Government Election Act, 2015, the administrator or his/her designate is required to submit municipal election results to the Minister as soon as possible after a municipal general election or by-election. Municipalities are encouraged to submit the results electronically, eliminating the need to mail or fax them.

Once election results are submitted, municipalities should also update their information found in the Municipal Directory.  Email if you have forgotten the username or password for your municipality.

We need your feedback to improve Help us improve