Renseignements en français

Google Translate Disclaimer

A number of pages on the Government of Saskatchewan's website have been professionally translated in French. These translations are identified by a yellow box in the right or left rail that resembles the link below. The home page for French-language content on this site can be found at:

Renseignements en Français

Where an official translation is not available, Google™ Translate can be used. Google™ Translate is a free online language translation service that can translate text and web pages into different languages. Translations are made available to increase access to Government of Saskatchewan content for populations whose first language is not English.

Software-based translations do not approach the fluency of a native speaker or possess the skill of a professional translator. The translation should not be considered exact, and may include incorrect or offensive language. The Government of Saskatchewan does not warrant the accuracy, reliability or timeliness of any information translated by this system. Some files or items cannot be translated, including graphs, photos and other file formats such as portable document formats (PDFs).

Any person or entities that rely on information obtained from the system does so at his or her own risk. Government of Saskatchewan is not responsible for any damage or issues that may possibly result from using translated website content. If you have any questions about Google™ Translate, please visit: Google™ Translate FAQs.

Saskatchewan Distinguished Service Award

Established in 1997, the Saskatchewan Distinguished Service Award provides official recognition by the Government of Saskatchewan of persons from outside the province who have made significant contributions to the well being of Saskatchewan and its residents. The award was introduced to acknowledge the importance of international and inter-provincial relations to Saskatchewan's economy, culture and society.


1. Insignia

Saskatchewan Distinguished Service AwardRecipients receive a gold lapel pin bearing the Saskatchewan coat of arms with the provincial motto Multis e gentibus vires (From many peoples strength), and a certificate to recognize their achievements. The award is presented by the Premier or another Cabinet Minister.


2. Nomination Criteria

Nominees must have made a significant contribution to the economic, social or cultural development of Saskatchewan and its people through leadership and personal activity in areas such as:

  • Trade
  • Investment
  • Finance
  • Agriculture
  • Resource development
  • Technology
  • Research
  • The arts
  • Culture industries

They must be either citizens of other countries, or Canadian citizens who reside in other provinces or territories of Canada or in other countries. Former residents of Saskatchewan are eligible if the contribution for which they are being recognized has been made since their departure from the province. Representatives of organizations are eligible for the award but not the organizations themselves. Posthumous nominations are accepted within a year of the death of the nominee.

Nominations for the award may be proposed by any ministry, agency or Crown corporation of the Government of Saskatchewan, or authority in which the government is a direct partner. An annual call for nominations is made.

The Saskatchewan Honours Advisory Council recommends recipients to the Premier.


3. 2017 Recipient

Huseyin Arslan, Executive Chair of the Board, AGT Foods and Ingredients, Mersin, Turkey

Mr. Huseyin Arslan has played an essential role in the transformation of Saskatchewan agriculture by investing in the province to create one of the world's largest pulse processing firms. His partnership has resulted in a Saskatchewan-based company that operates 47 facilities worldwide and employees more than 450 people in the province, while opening new markets for thousands of Saskatchewan farmers.

Mr. Arslan, involved in the global pulses and staple foods business for over 30 years, has presided for almost 20 years as the President of the Arbel Group. In 2001, Mr. Arslan was one of the founding shareholders of Saskcan Pulse Trading providing the nucleus for AGT Food and Ingredients (AGT), where he has served as a director or trustee since 2008 and Executive Chair of the Board of Directors since 2009. Mr. Arslan also serves as a director of AGT subsidiaries, Durum Foods, the producer of the Arbella pasta brand, and Turkpulse, as well as certain companies owned by the Arslan Family in Turkey.

Mr. Arslan holds a Bachelor of Science in Electronics Engineering from Middle East Technical University in Turkey and has over three decades of experience in the trading of agricultural and food products globally. In 2015, Mr. Arslan was selected as President of the Global Pulse Confederation after serving as Executive Vice-President of the International Pulse Processors and Exporters Federation, the global pulse industry association, since 2013 as well as serving as the President of the Mersin Trade Commodity Exchange Council.


4. Previous Recipients


Robert Banks, Washington, D.C., USA

Peter Gzowski, Toronto, ON

Moto Motohashi, Tokyo, Japan


John Cook, Toronto, ON

Buffy Sainte-Marie, Hawaii, USA

Ian Wahn (1916-1999) , Toronto, ON


Philip Gordon, Toronto, ON


Tom Jackson, Calgary, AB

Ichiro Okamoto, Hyogo, Japan


Ken Battle, Ottawa, ON

Adrian Burns, Ottawa, ON

Judith Maxwell, Ottawa, ON

Steve McGirr, Toronto, ON

John Richards, Vancouver, BC

Sir Conrad Swan, Suffolk, United Kingdom


Dr. Thomas Courchene, Kingston, ON

The Right Honourable Sir Robin Janvrin, London, United Kingdom

John C.S. Lau, Calgary, AB

Wilton J. Littlechild, Hobbema, AB


Sensei Hidetaka Hishiyama, California, USA

Olga Lysenska, Kyiv, Ukraine


Dr. Ronald Cavell, Edmonton, AB


Dr. Daniel Fox, New York, USA


Bob McGrath, Teaneck, New Jersey, USA


Huseyin Arslan, Mersin, Turkey

We need your feedback to improve Help us improve