Google Translate Disclaimer

A number of pages on the Government of Saskatchewan's website have been professionally translated in French. These translations are identified by a yellow box in the right or left rail that resembles the link below. The home page for French-language content on this site can be found at:

Renseignements en Français

Where an official translation is not available, Google™ Translate can be used. Google™ Translate is a free online language translation service that can translate text and web pages into different languages. Translations are made available to increase access to Government of Saskatchewan content for populations whose first language is not English.

Software-based translations do not approach the fluency of a native speaker or possess the skill of a professional translator. The translation should not be considered exact, and may include incorrect or offensive language. The Government of Saskatchewan does not warrant the accuracy, reliability or timeliness of any information translated by this system. Some files or items cannot be translated, including graphs, photos and other file formats such as portable document formats (PDFs).

Any person or entities that rely on information obtained from the system does so at his or her own risk. Government of Saskatchewan is not responsible for any damage or issues that may possibly result from using translated website content. If you have any questions about Google™ Translate, please visit: Google™ Translate FAQs.

Six Individuals Named as the 2023 Saskatchewan Order of Merit Recipients

Released on July 18, 2023

Today Lieutenant Governor Russ Mirasty announced the names of six outstanding individuals who will become the next recipients of the Saskatchewan Order of Merit, the province's highest honour. These medal recipients will be invested with the Order at a formal ceremony in Saskatoon on Sept. 27, 2023. 

"These Saskatchewan Order of Merit recipients have taken on challenges and dedicated themselves to making positive change in their communities," Mirasty said. "Their efforts have made a remarkable impact on our province and its people. I wish to congratulate and express my gratitude to each of the recipients for years of contributions and commitment."

The 2023 Saskatchewan Order of Merit recipients are: 

  • Al Anderson, Saskatoon
  • Nora Cummings, S.V.M., Saskatoon
  • Neal Hardy, Hudson Bay
  • Pierre Hucl, Saskatoon
  • Don Meikle, Saskatoon
  • Jacqueline Tisher, Regina

The Saskatchewan Order of Merit was established in 1985 to celebrate excellence and achievement by Saskatchewan citizens. To date, 266 individuals have been invested with the Order in appreciation of their significant contributions in areas such as agriculture, business, industry, community leadership, public service, art, research and volunteering. The Saskatchewan Order of Merit is recognized in the Canadian Honours System and members of the Order are entitled to use the post-nominal letters S.O.M.

For more information about the Saskatchewan Order of Merit, or to nominate someone, visit


For more information, contact:

Kaylyn Whibbs
Intergovernmental Affairs
Phone: 306-527-1910

We need your feedback to improve Help us improve