Google Translate Disclaimer

A number of pages on the Government of Saskatchewan's website have been professionally translated in French. These translations are identified by a yellow box in the right or left rail that resembles the link below. The home page for French-language content on this site can be found at:

Renseignements en Français

Where an official translation is not available, Google™ Translate can be used. Google™ Translate is a free online language translation service that can translate text and web pages into different languages. Translations are made available to increase access to Government of Saskatchewan content for populations whose first language is not English.

Software-based translations do not approach the fluency of a native speaker or possess the skill of a professional translator. The translation should not be considered exact, and may include incorrect or offensive language. The Government of Saskatchewan does not warrant the accuracy, reliability or timeliness of any information translated by this system. Some files or items cannot be translated, including graphs, photos and other file formats such as portable document formats (PDFs).

Any person or entities that rely on information obtained from the system does so at his or her own risk. Government of Saskatchewan is not responsible for any damage or issues that may possibly result from using translated website content. If you have any questions about Google™ Translate, please visit: Google™ Translate FAQs.

Firearms Advisory Committee Established

Released on April 13, 2022

Government has appointed a Firearms Advisory Committee to provide recommendations on firearms policy to the Minister of Corrections, Policing and Public Safety and the Chief Firearms Officer.

The committee will provide input and feedback from the Saskatchewan firearms community on firearms education, licensing, transportation, the licensing of firearms ranges and public safety concerns. 

"I look forward to working with the members of the new Firearms Advisory Committee to strengthen our firearms program in Saskatchewan and improve services for responsible gun owners," Corrections, Policing and Public Safety Minister Christine Tell said. 

The following individuals have been appointed to the committee:

  • Gilbert White, Chairperson
  • Geoffrey Dufour, Board Member
  • Dan D'Autremont, Board Member
  • Garry Breitkreuz, Board Member
  • John Lawson, Board Member
  • Joyce Lorenz, Board Member
  • Darryl Yausie, Board Member

These appointees represent a broad range of organizations and groups, including the Saskatchewan Association of Firearm Education (SAFE), Saskatchewan Wildlife Federation, Saskatchewan Trappers Association, Saskatchewan Association of Rural Municipalities (SARM), the Canadian Sport Shooting Association, firearms safety instructors, hunters, sports shooters and anglers.

"This committee will allow us to engage directly with the Saskatchewan firearms community and use their feedback to inform the decisions we make on firearms policy in our province and provide a Saskatchewan perspective on these issues at the federal level," Tell said.

In 2021, Saskatchewan moved transitioned oversight of the province's firearms program from the federal government to the province with the appointment of its first provincially appointed Chief Firearms Officer. The office now administers the Firearms Act in Saskatchewan, which includes jurisdiction over the licensing, storage, transportation and carrying of firearms.


For more information, contact:

Noel Busse
Corrections, Policing and Public Safety
Phone: 306-787-8959

We need your feedback to improve Help us improve