Effective Friday, September 17, a province-wide mandatory masking order will be implemented for all indoor public spaces. 

Google Translate Disclaimer

A number of pages on the Government of Saskatchewan's website have been professionally translated in French. These translations are identified by a yellow box in the right or left rail that resembles the link below. The home page for French-language content on this site can be found at:

Renseignements en Français

Where an official translation is not available, Google™ Translate can be used. Google™ Translate is a free online language translation service that can translate text and web pages into different languages. Translations are made available to increase access to Government of Saskatchewan content for populations whose first language is not English.

Software-based translations do not approach the fluency of a native speaker or possess the skill of a professional translator. The translation should not be considered exact, and may include incorrect or offensive language. The Government of Saskatchewan does not warrant the accuracy, reliability or timeliness of any information translated by this system. Some files or items cannot be translated, including graphs, photos and other file formats such as portable document formats (PDFs).

Any person or entities that rely on information obtained from the system does so at his or her own risk. Government of Saskatchewan is not responsible for any damage or issues that may possibly result from using translated website content. If you have any questions about Google™ Translate, please visit: Google™ Translate FAQs.

Building Better Schools Through Saskatchewan Stimulus Plan

Released on November 23, 2021

Work is underway on school maintenance projects in 15 communities across Saskatchewan. These 15 communities include Aberdeen, Allan, Clavet, Delisle, Gravelbourg, Hague, Harris, Hepburn, Humboldt, Langham, Meadow Lake, Saskatoon, Swift Current, Tisdale and Yorkton.

The province announced $25.9 million in stimulus funding for developments such as upgrades to mechanical and structural components in schools in June of 2020. The schools chosen to be a part of the stimulus maintenance funding were identified as priorities by school divisions in their preventative maintenance and renewal plans. By providing funding to these specific projects, school divisions are able to proceed without tying up a significant portion of their own Preventative Maintenance and Renewal funds.

"Through our government's stimulus plan, we are building stronger schools and communities while creating jobs," Education Minister Dustin Duncan said. "We are pleased to see the progress made on these projects and in our education sector."

Of the announced projects, three have been completed:

  • Roof replacement for Harris-Tessier School - Sun West School Division.
  • Asbestos remediation at Swift Current Comprehensive High School - Chinook School Division; and
  • Roof replacement for Tisdale Middle and Secondary School - North East School Division. 

Four others are expected to be finished by the end of November 2021:

  • Roof replacement for Aberdeen Composite School - Prairie Spirit School Division;
  • Roof replacement for Delisle Composite - Prairie Spirit School Division;
  • Structural repairs at Hague Elementary School - Prairie Spirit School Division; and
  • Roof replacement for Yorkton Regional High School - Good Spirit School Division.

In addition to these projects, work on emergency lighting at all of Horizon School Division facilities in Humboldt is expected to be completed by the end of December 2021.

Of the remaining projects announced, four others are in progress and are between 20 and 80 per cent complete, including:

  • Major renovations at Clavet Composite School - Prairie Spirit School Division;
  • Roof replacement for Father Robinson School, Saskatoon - St. Paul's Roman Catholic Separate School Division;
  • Boiler replacement at Hepburn School - Prairie Spirit School Division; and
  • Roof replacement for Lakeview School, Meadow Lake - Northwest School Division.

Meanwhile, the design for both Allan Composite School and Walter W. Brown School has been completed, and a project manager has been hired for École Mathieu de Gravelbourg and École Beau Soleil, Gravelbourg.

"Investing in school maintenance projects like these is an important part of our government's commitment to build a stronger and better educated Saskatchewan," SaskBuilds and Procurement Minister Jim Reiter said. "These projects not only help address key maintenance needs in schools across our province, they also helped stimulate activity in local economies in these communities as part of our record investment in infrastructure stimulus funding."

"We're thrilled to receive major capital funding to enhance the educational environment at the Yorkton Regional High School," Good Spirit Board of Education Chair Bob Simpson said. "As the largest school in the Parkland region, the Yorkton Regional High School is a hub of the community. The Board of Education would like to express their appreciation to the Government of Saskatchewan for the funding received. They look forward to continued support to enhance the Yorkton Regional High School as we continue to strive for learning without limits and achievement for all."

These projects are part of the Government of Saskatchewan's $7.5 billion capital plan to build a strong Saskatchewan and stimulate Saskatchewan's economic recovery.


For more information, contact:

Chelsey Balaski
Phone: 306-787-1414
Email: chelsey.balaski@gov.sk.ca
Cell: 306-527-7273

We need your feedback to improve saskatchewan.ca. Help us improve