Effective Friday, September 17, a province-wide mandatory masking order will be implemented for all indoor public spaces. 

Google Translate Disclaimer

A number of pages on the Government of Saskatchewan's website have been professionally translated in French. These translations are identified by a yellow box in the right or left rail that resembles the link below. The home page for French-language content on this site can be found at:

Renseignements en Français

Where an official translation is not available, Google™ Translate can be used. Google™ Translate is a free online language translation service that can translate text and web pages into different languages. Translations are made available to increase access to Government of Saskatchewan content for populations whose first language is not English.

Software-based translations do not approach the fluency of a native speaker or possess the skill of a professional translator. The translation should not be considered exact, and may include incorrect or offensive language. The Government of Saskatchewan does not warrant the accuracy, reliability or timeliness of any information translated by this system. Some files or items cannot be translated, including graphs, photos and other file formats such as portable document formats (PDFs).

Any person or entities that rely on information obtained from the system does so at his or her own risk. Government of Saskatchewan is not responsible for any damage or issues that may possibly result from using translated website content. If you have any questions about Google™ Translate, please visit: Google™ Translate FAQs.

Province Invests 16 Remarkable Individuals into Saskatchewan Order of Merit

Released on November 17, 2021

Tonight, Lieutenant Governor Russ Mirasty will invest the 2020 and 2021 recipients into the province's highest honour, the Saskatchewan Order of Merit.  

"The sixteen recipients honoured this evening have significantly impacted the well-being of Saskatchewan people," Mirasty said. "I congratulate each of these impressive individuals and I thank them for their remarkable contributions to our province."

The 2020 Saskatchewan Order of Merit recipients are:

  • Dr. Gordon Asmundson, Regina
  • Rigmor Clarke, Shell Lake
  • Sally Elliott, Regina (posthumous)
  • Gerald Grandey, Saskatoon
  • Dr. Donald Greve, Rosthern
  • Dr. Lorne Hepworth, Weyburn and London, ON
  • Pamela Klein, Regina
  • Silvia Martini, Saskatoon
  • Eloise Sitter, Saskatoon
  • Dr. Walter Streelasky, Melville

The 2021 Saskatchewan Order of Merit recipients are:

  • Mavis Ashbourne-Palmer, Regina
  • Dr. Michael Bishop, Kamsack
  • Albert Brown, Saskatoon
  • Marie-Anne DayWalker-Pelletier, C.M., Balcarres
  • Hart Godden, Regina
  • Solomon Ratt, Regina

Since 1985, the Saskatchewan Order of Merit has recognized citizens who demonstrate exemplary contributions to the province in areas such as the arts, business and industry, agriculture, community leadership and volunteer service. In 1991, this award was recognized by the Government of Canada in the national sequence of orders.  

The individuals invested this year will join 242 other citizens who have previously been invested into the Saskatchewan Order of Merit. They will receive the medal of the Order at a ceremony held in their honour this evening.  

The ceremony will be broadcast live on AccessNow TV and at www.myaccess.ca/SOM beginning at 6:30 p.m. tonight. Access Communications is the exclusive broadcast sponsor of the Saskatchewan Order of Merit ceremony.

For more information about the Saskatchewan Order of Merit or to find out how to nominate someone, visit www.saskatchewan.ca/honoursawards.


For more information, contact:

Diane Robinson
Intergovernmental Affairs
Phone: 306-787-1077
Email: Diane.Robinson2@gov.sk.ca

We need your feedback to improve saskatchewan.ca. Help us improve