Effective Friday, September 17, a province-wide mandatory masking order will be implemented for all indoor public spaces. 

Google Translate Disclaimer

A number of pages on the Government of Saskatchewan's website have been professionally translated in French. These translations are identified by a yellow box in the right or left rail that resembles the link below. The home page for French-language content on this site can be found at:

Renseignements en Français

Where an official translation is not available, Google™ Translate can be used. Google™ Translate is a free online language translation service that can translate text and web pages into different languages. Translations are made available to increase access to Government of Saskatchewan content for populations whose first language is not English.

Software-based translations do not approach the fluency of a native speaker or possess the skill of a professional translator. The translation should not be considered exact, and may include incorrect or offensive language. The Government of Saskatchewan does not warrant the accuracy, reliability or timeliness of any information translated by this system. Some files or items cannot be translated, including graphs, photos and other file formats such as portable document formats (PDFs).

Any person or entities that rely on information obtained from the system does so at his or her own risk. Government of Saskatchewan is not responsible for any damage or issues that may possibly result from using translated website content. If you have any questions about Google™ Translate, please visit: Google™ Translate FAQs.

Province Provides Over $3.7 Million To Saskatchewan Municipalities For Paratransit Services

Released on July 23, 2021

Today, Government Relations Minister Don McMorris announced over $3.7 million in funding for the Transit Assistance for People with Disabilities program (TAPD). 

TAPD is an annual provincial grant program available to Saskatchewan municipalities who offer paratransit services. 

"This investment reinforces our commitment to building a more inclusive and accessible Saskatchewan," McMorris said. "Our government is proud of this investment to support municipalities in providing services to people with disabilities and reducing barriers to employment."

Paratransit is critical for people with disabilities as passengers use the service to travel to school, work, medical appointments and other daily activities. 

In total, 69 municipalities - 14 cities and 55 towns - across the province will receive funds through TAPD in the 2021-22 fiscal year.  Through the program, funds are provided for operating assistance grants, such as transportation costs and vehicle maintenance, and capital assistance grants used for the purchase of replacement vehicles. 

Funding for operational assistance grants is calculated using the population category of each municipality as well as the number of paratransit trips provided by the municipality in the previous calendar year. 

Municipalities receiving a grant for operating assistance include the City of Estevan, Town of La Ronge, City of Melville, Town of Nipawin and Town of Shaunavon. 

Funding for capital assistance grants is provided for 75 per cent of the cost of a vehicle to a maximum of $55,000 per vehicle.  The municipality is responsible for covering 25 per cent of the cost. 

Municipalities receiving a capital grant toward the purchase of new paratransit buses in 2021-22 are the: Town of Carlyle, City of Moose Jaw, City of North Battleford, City of Prince Albert, Town of Rocanville, City of Saskatoon, City of Regina and City of Yorkton. 

A full list of grant recipients is attached.

Accessible and safe transportation is also identified as one of six priority areas in the Saskatchewan Disability Strategy.  The TAPD program directly supports this priority by helping Saskatchewan municipalities provide safe and available public paratransit service to residents across the province.

For more information about the program, visit https://www.saskatchewan.ca/government/municipal-administration/funding-finances-and-asset-management/funding/funding-transit-for-people-with-disabilities.




For more information, contact:

Jonathan Tremblay
Government Relations
Phone: 306-787-6156
Email: jonathan.tremblay@gov.sk.ca

We need your feedback to improve saskatchewan.ca. Help us improve