Google Translate Disclaimer

A number of pages on the Government of Saskatchewan's website have been professionally translated in French. These translations are identified by a yellow box in the right or left rail that resembles the link below. The home page for French-language content on this site can be found at:

Renseignements en Français

Where an official translation is not available, Google™ Translate can be used. Google™ Translate is a free online language translation service that can translate text and web pages into different languages. Translations are made available to increase access to Government of Saskatchewan content for populations whose first language is not English.

Software-based translations do not approach the fluency of a native speaker or possess the skill of a professional translator. The translation should not be considered exact, and may include incorrect or offensive language. The Government of Saskatchewan does not warrant the accuracy, reliability or timeliness of any information translated by this system. Some files or items cannot be translated, including graphs, photos and other file formats such as portable document formats (PDFs).

Any person or entities that rely on information obtained from the system does so at his or her own risk. Government of Saskatchewan is not responsible for any damage or issues that may possibly result from using translated website content. If you have any questions about Google™ Translate, please visit: Google™ Translate FAQs.

2019 Queen's Counsel Designation Honours For 14 Saskatchewan Lawyers

Released on December 11, 2019

Fourteen Saskatchewan lawyers are being recognized for their contributions to the legal profession and public service with the Queen’s Counsel (Q.C.) designation.

“The Queen’s Counsel designation is a tradition that honours those lawyers who have demonstrated superior legal ability and outstanding public service,” Justice Minister and Attorney General Don Morgan said.  “I’m proud to be able to recognize their hard work and dedication, not only to the legal profession, but to communities across our province.”

The 2019 Queen’s Counsel appointments are:
  • Frances Alice Atkinson is a Senior Crown Prosecutor with Saskatchewan Justice in Meadow Lake.  She was admitted to the bar in 1981.
  • Merlis Milton Richard Belsher is a prominent businessman and philanthropist residing in Saskatoon.  He was admitted to the bar in 1964.
  • Peter Timothy Bergbusch is with Miller Thompson LLP in Regina.  He was admitted to the bar in 1996.
  • Amber Adelene Biemans is with Behiel Will & Biemans in Humboldt.  She was admitted to the bar in 2006.
  • Sheila Elizabeth Caston is with McKercher LLP in Saskatoon.  She was admitted to the bar in 1997.
  • Loreley Chekay is with Saskatchewan Government Insurance in Regina.  She was admitted to the bar in 2003.
  • Cory John Furman is with Furman Law & Strategy in Regina.  He is also Chair of Creative Saskatchewan.  He was admitted to the bar in 1995.
  • Alan Frederick Jacobson is a Senior Crown Counsel with the Constitutional Law Branch of Saskatchewan Justice and Attorney General.  He was admitted to the bar in 1999.
  • Amanda Marie Quayle is with McDougall Gauley in Regina.  She was admitted to the bar in 1998.
  • Susan Elizabeth Ross is the President and Chief Executive Officer with Water Security Agency.  She was admitted to the bar in 1987.
  • William Alfred Selnes is with Kapoor Selnes Klimm in Melfort.  He was admitted to the bar in 1976.
  • Sheldon Melvin Stener is with Federated Co-operatives Limited in Saskatoon.  He was admitted to the bar in 1991.
  • Scott David Waters is with Robertson Stromberg LLP in Saskatoon.  He was admitted to the bar in 2001.
  • Janet Lee Whitridge is the Executive Legal Officer of the Provincial Court in Regina.  She was admitted to the bar in 1993.
Queen’s Counsel appointments are based on recommendations from a selection committee consisting of Saskatchewan's Minister of Justice and Attorney General, the Chief Justice of the Court of Appeal for Saskatchewan or the Chief Justice of the Court of Queen's Bench and the past presidents of the Saskatchewan branch of the Canadian Bar Association and the Law Society of Saskatchewan.

Individuals must live in Saskatchewan and must have practiced law for at least 10 years in the superior courts of any province or territory of Canada, the United Kingdom or Ireland.


For more information, contact:

Jennifer Graham
Phone: 306-787-8621

We need your feedback to improve Help us improve