Google Translate Disclaimer

A number of pages on the Government of Saskatchewan's website have been professionally translated in French. These translations are identified by a yellow box in the right or left rail that resembles the link below. The home page for French-language content on this site can be found at:

Renseignements en Français

Where an official translation is not available, Google™ Translate can be used. Google™ Translate is a free online language translation service that can translate text and web pages into different languages. Translations are made available to increase access to Government of Saskatchewan content for populations whose first language is not English.

Software-based translations do not approach the fluency of a native speaker or possess the skill of a professional translator. The translation should not be considered exact, and may include incorrect or offensive language. The Government of Saskatchewan does not warrant the accuracy, reliability or timeliness of any information translated by this system. Some files or items cannot be translated, including graphs, photos and other file formats such as portable document formats (PDFs).

Any person or entities that rely on information obtained from the system does so at his or her own risk. Government of Saskatchewan is not responsible for any damage or issues that may possibly result from using translated website content. If you have any questions about Google™ Translate, please visit: Google™ Translate FAQs.

Distinguished Lawyers Honoured With 2018 Queen's Counsel Designations

Released on December 18, 2018

Eighteen Saskatchewan lawyers are being honoured with the Queen’s Counsel (Q.C.) designation for their contributions to the legal profession and public service.

“These individuals have made significant contributions to the legal profession, the justice system and their communities,” Justice Minister and Attorney General Don Morgan said.  “I’m pleased to recognize their hard work and dedication to our province.”

The 2018 Queen’s Counsel appointments are:
  • Leslie Geraldine Hull Belloc-Pinder is a partner with the firm Hnatyshyn Gough and is president of the Law Society of Saskatchewan.  She was admitted to the bar in 1985.
  • Daryl Barry Bode is a senior Crown prosecutor with the Ministry of Justice.  He was admitted to the bar in 1991.
  • Elwood Rand Burlingham is with the firm Burlingham Cuelenaere.  He was admitted to the bar in 1969.
  • Nicholas Michael Cann is a partner with McKercher LLP in Regina and currently the president of the Saskatchewan Branch of the Canadian Bar Association.  He was admitted to the bar in 2005.
  • Jennifer Da Silva Pereira is a partner at Robertson Stromberg LLP.  She was admitted to the bar in 2004.
  • Glen William Dowling is a partner in the firm Robb Dowling Talbot in Regina.  He was admitted to the bar in 1983.
  • Sherry Lee Fitzsimmons is a partner with McDougall Gauley LLP in Saskatoon.  She was admitted to the bar in 1996.
  • David Griffith Gerecke is with the firm Miller Thomson LLP in Saskatoon.  He was admitted to the bar in 1992.
  • Keith Denison Kilback is a partner with Kanuka Thuringer in Regina.  He was admitted to the bar in 1995.
  • Walter Jimmy Matkowski is a commissioner with the Automobile Injury Appeal Commission.  He was admitted to the bar in 1987.
  • Wade Edmund McBride is General Counsel with the Public Prosecution Service of Canada.  He was admitted to the bar in 1983.
  • Michael James Morris is Director of Litigation with the Ministry of Justice Civil Law Branch.  He was admitted to the bar in 2004.
  • Michael Peter Morris is the Director of Legal Services at Saskatchewan Association of Rural Municipalities.  He was admitted to the bar in 1985.
  • Dwight Gordon Newman is a professor and Canada Research Chair at the University of Saskatchewan College of Law.  He was called to the Ontario bar in 2001 and Saskatchewan bar in 2011.
  • Ronalda Ann Nordal is with the Nordal LeBlanc Law Office.  She was admitted to the bar in 1999.
  • Lyle Oswald Phillips is with the Chow McLeod Firm in Moose Jaw.  He was admitted to the bar in 1954.
  • Eleanore Kaye Sunchild is with Sunchild Law in North Battleford.  She was admitted to the bar in 1999.
  • Rachelle Maureen Verret Morphy is Vice-President, Corporate and Regulatory Affairs at SaskPower.  She was admitted to the bar in 1996.
Queen’s Counsel appointments are based on recommendations from a selection committee consisting of Saskatchewan's Minister of Justice and Attorney General, the Chief Justice of the Court of Appeal for Saskatchewan or the Chief Justice of the Court of Queen's Bench and the past presidents of the Saskatchewan branch of the Canadian Bar Association and the Law Society of Saskatchewan.

Individuals must live in Saskatchewan and must have practiced law for at least 10 years in the superior courts of any province or territory of Canada, the United Kingdom or Ireland.


For more information, contact:

Jennifer Graham
Phone: 306-787-8621

We need your feedback to improve Help us improve