Google Translate Disclaimer

A number of pages on the Government of Saskatchewan's website have been professionally translated in French. These translations are identified by a yellow box in the right or left rail that resembles the link below. The home page for French-language content on this site can be found at:

Renseignements en Français

Where an official translation is not available, Google™ Translate can be used. Google™ Translate is a free online language translation service that can translate text and web pages into different languages. Translations are made available to increase access to Government of Saskatchewan content for populations whose first language is not English.

Software-based translations do not approach the fluency of a native speaker or possess the skill of a professional translator. The translation should not be considered exact, and may include incorrect or offensive language. The Government of Saskatchewan does not warrant the accuracy, reliability or timeliness of any information translated by this system. Some files or items cannot be translated, including graphs, photos and other file formats such as portable document formats (PDFs).

Any person or entities that rely on information obtained from the system does so at his or her own risk. Government of Saskatchewan is not responsible for any damage or issues that may possibly result from using translated website content. If you have any questions about Google™ Translate, please visit: Google™ Translate FAQs.

Lieutenant Governor Announces Saskatchewan Volunteer Medal Recipients

Released on April 17, 2018

Today Lieutenant Governor W. Thomas Molloy presented individuals who exemplify the spirit of volunteerism with the Saskatchewan Volunteer Medal.

“These individuals have selflessly given their time and energy to make our province a better place,” Molloy said.  “Their commitment to their communities is an inspiration, and I am truly thankful for their service to Saskatchewan.  I wish to extend my sincere congratulations to each of them for receiving this honour.”

The recipients of the 2017 Saskatchewan Volunteer Medal are:

  • Michelle Al-Katib, Community Leader, White City;
  • Mal Barber, Business Owner, Weyburn;
  • Scott Boyes, Public Servant, La Ronge;
  • Robert Dumur, Business Owner, Pasqua Lake;
  • Shirley Frydenlund, Community Builder, Allan;
  • Audrey Heit, Retired Special Care Aide, Kindersley;
  • Paul Jaspar, Chartered Professional Accountant, Saskatoon;
  • Helene Kesten, Social Worker, Regina;
  • Eugene Paquin, Retired Educator, Saskatoon; and
  • Vincent Somogyi, Farmer, Willowbrook.

The recipients were presented the Saskatchewan Volunteer Medal during a ceremony this morning at Government House and will be welcomed as guests in the Legislative Assembly by Premier Scott Moe.  The ceremony coincided with National Volunteer Week.  Robert Dumur and Audrey Heit will be presented their medals at a later date.

Since its establishment in 1995, the Saskatchewan Volunteer Medal has been awarded to extraordinary citizens across the province for their outstanding contributions to Saskatchewan.

Today’s recipients join the ranks of 194 exemplary volunteers recognized in previous years.  For more information about the Saskatchewan Volunteer Medal or to nominate someone for other Saskatchewan Honours and Awards, visit


For more information, contact:

Jamie Fischer
Intergovernmental Affairs
Phone: 306-787-5174

We need your feedback to improve Help us improve