Google Translate Disclaimer

A number of pages on the Government of Saskatchewan's website have been professionally translated in French. These translations are identified by a yellow box in the right or left rail that resembles the link below. The home page for French-language content on this site can be found at:

Renseignements en Français

Where an official translation is not available, Google™ Translate can be used. Google™ Translate is a free online language translation service that can translate text and web pages into different languages. Translations are made available to increase access to Government of Saskatchewan content for populations whose first language is not English.

Software-based translations do not approach the fluency of a native speaker or possess the skill of a professional translator. The translation should not be considered exact, and may include incorrect or offensive language. The Government of Saskatchewan does not warrant the accuracy, reliability or timeliness of any information translated by this system. Some files or items cannot be translated, including graphs, photos and other file formats such as portable document formats (PDFs).

Any person or entities that rely on information obtained from the system does so at his or her own risk. Government of Saskatchewan is not responsible for any damage or issues that may possibly result from using translated website content. If you have any questions about Google™ Translate, please visit: Google™ Translate FAQs.

New Smaller Cabinet Includes Four New Faces

Released on August 23, 2016

Premier Brad Wall has made major changes to the provincial cabinet.

“In the April election, we were fortunate that voters elected a number of very talented and capable new MLAs, creating the opportunity for renewal in our government,” Wall said.  “The new cabinet will have a strong blend of experience and new faces and will serve Saskatchewan well as we work to meet the opportunities and challenges facing our province.”

Five MLAs are entering cabinet, including four who become ministers for the first time:

  • Tina Beaudry-Mellor becomes Minister of Social Services and Minister responsible for the Status of Women;
  • Dave Marit becomes Minister of Highways and Infrastructure;
  • Bronwyn Eyre becomes Minister of Advanced Education;
  • Joe Hargrave becomes Minister of Crown Investments Corporation (CIC), Saskatchewan Government Insurance (SGI) and Saskatchewan Transportation Company (STC); and
  • Ken Cheveldayoff re-enters cabinet as Minister of Parks, Culture and Sport and Minister responsible for the Public Service Commission (PSC).
Veteran MLA and minister Don Morgan becomes Saskatchewan's new Deputy Premier.  Morgan will continue to serve as Minister of Education and Minister of Labour.

“Don Morgan has always been a leader in our government's caucus and cabinet,” Wall said.  “His sound judgment and the respect he has earned among his colleagues made Don the clear choice for Deputy Premier.”

Four other ministers will retain their current cabinet responsibilities.  They are:
  • Finance Minister Kevin Doherty;
  • Agriculture Minister Lyle Stewart;
  • Rural and Remote Health Minister Greg Ottenbreit; and
  • Justice and SaskBuilds Minister Gordon Wyant, whose Justice responsibilities will now also include corrections and policing.  Wyant also becomes Minister responsible for SaskPower.
Six ministers are changing portfolios:
  • Jim Reiter becomes Minister of Health;
  • Donna Harpauer becomes Minister of Government Relations and Minister responsible for First Nations, Métis and Northern Affairs;
  • Dustin Duncan becomes Minister of Energy and Resources and Minister responsible for SaskTel and SaskEnergy;
  • Jeremy Harrison becomes Minister of the Economy, Minister responsible for the Global Transportation Hub (GTH) and Minister responsible for Saskatchewan Liquor and Gaming Authority (SLGA);
  • Scott Moe becomes Minister of Environment, Minister responsible for Saskatchewan Water Corporation and Minister responsible for Saskatchewan Water Security Agency; and
  • Christine Tell becomes Minister of Central Services, Minister responsible for Saskatchewan Gaming Corporation and Minister responsible for the Provincial Capital Commission.
The size of cabinet has been reduced by one minister to 17, including the Premier.  Wall noted that represents about a five per cent reduction in the size of cabinet and will save taxpayers about $450,000 a year.

“We are looking for about five per cent in savings across government in order to balance the budget,” Wall said.  “While reducing the size of cabinet amounts to a small savings compared to the size of the overall budget, I thought it was important to start at the top as we look to reduce the costs to taxpayers all across government.”

Wall thanked the members who are leaving cabinet and said they will all continue to play important roles in the government.

Nadine Wilson will continue to serve as Provincial Secretary and Legislative Secretary to the Premier.  Wall appointed eight other Legislative Secretaries:
  • Mark Docherty, Legislative Secretary to the Premier (Immigration and Culture);
  • Jennifer Campeau, Legislative Secretary to the Minister of Education (First Nations Student Achievement);
  • Lisa Lambert, Legislative Secretary to the Minister of Education (Curriculum Development and Consultation);
  • Lori Carr, Legislative Secretary to the Minister responsible for SaskPower (Renewable and Sustainable Energy);
  • Fred Bradshaw, Legislative Secretary to the Minister of Environment (Forestry and Wildfire Management);
  • Hugh Nerlien, Legislative Secretary to the Minister responsible for the Public Service Commission Public Sector Bargaining);
  • Steven Bonk, Legislative Secretary to the Minister of the Economy (Export Development); and
  • Warren Kaeding, Legislative Secretary to the Minister of Agriculture (Irrigation Expansion).
Paul Merriman becomes the new Government House Leader and Greg Lawrence has been appointed Government Whip.

“The priorities of the new cabinet will be keeping Saskatchewan's economy strong while carefully managing the province's finances through this challenging time,” Wall said.  “I am confident we have the right group of women and men to meet this challenge and keep Saskatchewan strong.”


For more information, contact:

Kathy Young
Executive Council
Phone: 306-787-0425
Cell: 306-526-8927

We need your feedback to improve Help us improve