Effective Friday, September 17, a province-wide mandatory masking order will be implemented for all indoor public spaces. 

Google Translate Disclaimer

A number of pages on the Government of Saskatchewan's website have been professionally translated in French. These translations are identified by a yellow box in the right or left rail that resembles the link below. The home page for French-language content on this site can be found at:

Renseignements en Français

Where an official translation is not available, Google™ Translate can be used. Google™ Translate is a free online language translation service that can translate text and web pages into different languages. Translations are made available to increase access to Government of Saskatchewan content for populations whose first language is not English.

Software-based translations do not approach the fluency of a native speaker or possess the skill of a professional translator. The translation should not be considered exact, and may include incorrect or offensive language. The Government of Saskatchewan does not warrant the accuracy, reliability or timeliness of any information translated by this system. Some files or items cannot be translated, including graphs, photos and other file formats such as portable document formats (PDFs).

Any person or entities that rely on information obtained from the system does so at his or her own risk. Government of Saskatchewan is not responsible for any damage or issues that may possibly result from using translated website content. If you have any questions about Google™ Translate, please visit: Google™ Translate FAQs.

Saskatchewan's Highest Honour Reaches 30th Anniversary

Released on April 16, 2015

Today, Lieutenant Governor Vaughn Solomon Schofield announced the names of the 10 new recipients to be invested into the Saskatchewan Order of Merit – the province’s highest honour, which marks its 30th anniversary this year.

"Like those invested into the Saskatchewan Order of Merit over the past three decades, this year's recipients are individuals of uncommon achievement, generosity and vision," Solomon Schofield said.  "I congratulate them on this well-deserved honour and I thank them for their extraordinary contributions to our province."

The recipients for 2014-15 are:
  • Mr. Jack Brodsky, Saskatoon
  • The Reverend Lorne Calvert, Saskatoon
  • Dr. Wilf Keller, Saskatoon
  • Ms. Anne Luke, LL.D., Regina
  • William (Bill) McKnight, P.C., LL.D., Saskatoon
  • Ms. Yvette Moore, Moose Jaw
  • Maestro Victor Sawa, Regina
  • Ms. Ellen Schmeiser, Q.C., Saskatoon
  • Dr. David E. Smith, O.C., F.R.S.C., Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario (previously from Saskatoon and Regina)
  • Mr. Henry Woolf, LL.D., Saskatoon
The 2014 and 2015 investitures have been merged this year with the ceremony for both taking place on May 13 in Regina.

Established in 1985, the Saskatchewan Order of Merit is a prestigious recognition of excellence, achievement and contributions to the social, cultural and economic well being of the province and its people.  The Order acknowledges individuals who have made their mark in the arts, agriculture, business, industry, community leadership, occupations, professions, public service, research and volunteer service.

The Saskatchewan Order of Merit takes precedence over all other provincial honours and awards.  The lieutenant governor is the Chancellor of the Order.


For more information, contact:

Dan Palmer
Intergovernmental Affairs
Phone: 306-787-2155
Email: dan.palmer@gov.sk.ca

We need your feedback to improve saskatchewan.ca. Help us improve