Google Translate Disclaimer

A number of pages on the Government of Saskatchewan's website have been professionally translated in French. These translations are identified by a yellow box in the right or left rail that resembles the link below. The home page for French-language content on this site can be found at:

Renseignements en Français

Where an official translation is not available, Google™ Translate can be used. Google™ Translate is a free online language translation service that can translate text and web pages into different languages. Translations are made available to increase access to Government of Saskatchewan content for populations whose first language is not English.

Software-based translations do not approach the fluency of a native speaker or possess the skill of a professional translator. The translation should not be considered exact, and may include incorrect or offensive language. The Government of Saskatchewan does not warrant the accuracy, reliability or timeliness of any information translated by this system. Some files or items cannot be translated, including graphs, photos and other file formats such as portable document formats (PDFs).

Any person or entities that rely on information obtained from the system does so at his or her own risk. Government of Saskatchewan is not responsible for any damage or issues that may possibly result from using translated website content. If you have any questions about Google™ Translate, please visit: Google™ Translate FAQs.

Cooperative Capital Markets Regulatory System: Important Developments

Released on April 16, 2015

Today the Ministers responsible for capital markets regulation in British Columbia, Ontario, Saskatchewan, New Brunswick, and Prince Edward Island and the Minister of Finance of Canada, together representing the Council of Ministers, announced further important steps toward the implementation of the Cooperative Capital Markets Regulatory System.

The Council of Ministers is pleased to welcome Yukon into the Cooperative System.  Yukon became the first territory to participate with its signing earlier this month of the Memorandum of Agreement Regarding the Cooperative Capital Markets Regulatory System.

The Ministers are also pleased to announce the members of the nominating committee that will recommend candidates for the initial board of directors of the Capital Markets Regulatory Authority.

The members of the nominating committee are:
  • \Neil de Gelder (British Columbia),
  • Susan Wolburgh Jenah (Ontario),
  • Grant J. Kook (Saskatchewan),
  • David G. Barry (New Brunswick) and
  • Michael Wilson (Canada).
The Council of Ministers, co-chaired by Michael de Jong, Minister of Finance of British Columbia, and Joe Oliver, Minister of Finance of Canada, will appoint the initial board of directors based on the recommendations of the nominating committee.

The Council will meet this summer in Vancouver to review progress on implementing the Cooperative System.  The initial board of directors will provide direction on the integration of participating securities regulators into the Authority.

The public consultation launched in September 2014 marked another important milestone in the drafting of the enabling legislation.  This summer, participating jurisdictions will release updated consultation draft provincial and territorial and federal capital markets legislation, along with draft initial regulations, for public comment.

The Ministers are renewing their invitation to the governments of other provinces and territories to also join the Cooperative System, which will better protect investors, support and foster efficiency, and manage systemic risk in national capital markets.


For more information, contact:

Shannon McMillan
Phone: 306-798-4160

We need your feedback to improve Help us improve