Google Translate Disclaimer

A number of pages on the Government of Saskatchewan's website have been professionally translated in French. These translations are identified by a yellow box in the right or left rail that resembles the link below. The home page for French-language content on this site can be found at:

Renseignements en Français

Where an official translation is not available, Google™ Translate can be used. Google™ Translate is a free online language translation service that can translate text and web pages into different languages. Translations are made available to increase access to Government of Saskatchewan content for populations whose first language is not English.

Software-based translations do not approach the fluency of a native speaker or possess the skill of a professional translator. The translation should not be considered exact, and may include incorrect or offensive language. The Government of Saskatchewan does not warrant the accuracy, reliability or timeliness of any information translated by this system. Some files or items cannot be translated, including graphs, photos and other file formats such as portable document formats (PDFs).

Any person or entities that rely on information obtained from the system does so at his or her own risk. Government of Saskatchewan is not responsible for any damage or issues that may possibly result from using translated website content. If you have any questions about Google™ Translate, please visit: Google™ Translate FAQs.

Transition Committee Established to Oversee Creation of Teacher Regulatory Body

Released on July 25, 2014

The Government of Saskatchewan, in collaboration with the Saskatchewan Teachers’ Federation (STF) and other education stakeholder groups, has appointed an eight person transition committee to develop a new regulatory body to handle teacher certification and discipline in Saskatchewan.

Government initiated the change to provide Saskatchewan teachers with the same authority and responsibility as other self regulated professions in the province.  The body will regulate who is a member of the profession and will oversee disciplinary functions for misconduct or incompetence.  A memorandum of agreement between the Government of Saskatchewan and STF has been signed in support of transitioning to this new regulatory model.

“The current process for regulating teachers in Saskatchewan is particularly complex, and work needs to be done to increase transparency of the process,” Minister of Education Don Morgan said.  “This new regulatory body will enhance the integrity of the teaching profession in our province, and it puts students’ safety at the forefront.”

The transition committee consists of the following representatives: Clint Repski for the Ministry of Education; Gwen Dueck and Fay Elke for the STF; Kyle McIntyre for the League of Educational Administrators, Directors and Superintendents (LEADS); Elizabeth Perreault for the Saskatchewan School Boards Association (SSBA); Keith Frame for the First Nations Directors of Education; Gerry Hurton for the Federation of Saskatchewan Indian Nations (FSIN); and Derwyn Crozier-Smith as a member of the public.

Government has been in discussions with sector partners, including STF, LEADS, SSBA, and the FSIN since November 2013.  During consultations in January 2014, each of these groups, along with the University of Saskatchewan and the University of Regina, outlined their roles and interest in teacher regulation in Saskatchewan, identified key issues and proposed next steps.

The transition committee will communicate and consult with teachers, parents, students and the public over the next year as they develop the bylaws and structure of the new regulatory body, and will provide regular updates to the sector through their representatives.

The new regulatory body is expected to be in operation by fall 2015.


For more information, contact:

Kelly Johnston
Phone: 306-787-1069
Cell: 306-533-7506

We need your feedback to improve Help us improve