Effective Friday, September 17, a province-wide mandatory masking order will be implemented for all indoor public spaces. 

Google Translate Disclaimer

A number of pages on the Government of Saskatchewan's website have been professionally translated in French. These translations are identified by a yellow box in the right or left rail that resembles the link below. The home page for French-language content on this site can be found at:

Renseignements en Français

Where an official translation is not available, Google™ Translate can be used. Google™ Translate is a free online language translation service that can translate text and web pages into different languages. Translations are made available to increase access to Government of Saskatchewan content for populations whose first language is not English.

Software-based translations do not approach the fluency of a native speaker or possess the skill of a professional translator. The translation should not be considered exact, and may include incorrect or offensive language. The Government of Saskatchewan does not warrant the accuracy, reliability or timeliness of any information translated by this system. Some files or items cannot be translated, including graphs, photos and other file formats such as portable document formats (PDFs).

Any person or entities that rely on information obtained from the system does so at his or her own risk. Government of Saskatchewan is not responsible for any damage or issues that may possibly result from using translated website content. If you have any questions about Google™ Translate, please visit: Google™ Translate FAQs.

Dental Disciplines Act Amended To Allow Three Professions To Practice Independently

Released on November 18, 2021

The Government of Saskatchewan is introducing legislation that will allow dental hygienists, dental therapists and dental assistants to practice independently within their scope of practice.

The Dental Disciplines Amendment Act, 2021 (the Act) introduced today in the Saskatchewan legislature will repeal section 25 of the current Act, which prohibits members of these three professions from practising independently of dentists.

"The amendment will expand the ability of these dental professionals to provide services and will make it possible for the public to select their provider of choice," Health Minister Paul Merriman said. "It will also create opportunities to develop dental service delivery models to improve public access to dental care, especially in rural and remote areas."

Consultations on the proposed changes were conducted with a large number of stakeholders including dental professional regulators in the province, the Saskatchewan Health Authority and other employers listed in the Act.

The changes will bring Saskatchewan in line with other Canadian jurisdictions.

The Dental Disciplines Act governs six of the regulated dental professions in Saskatchewan: dentists, dental hygienists, dental therapists, dental assistants, dental technicians and denturists. The Act has provisions that prescribe authorized practices for each of these professions.


For more information, contact:

Phone: 306-787-4083
Email: media@health.gov.sk.ca

We need your feedback to improve saskatchewan.ca. Help us improve