Learn more about COVID-19 in Saskatchewan:

Google Translate Disclaimer

A number of pages on the Government of Saskatchewan's website have been professionally translated in French. These translations are identified by a yellow box in the right or left rail that resembles the link below. The home page for French-language content on this site can be found at:

Renseignements en Français

Where an official translation is not available, Google™ Translate can be used. Google™ Translate is a free online language translation service that can translate text and web pages into different languages. Translations are made available to increase access to Government of Saskatchewan content for populations whose first language is not English.

Software-based translations do not approach the fluency of a native speaker or possess the skill of a professional translator. The translation should not be considered exact, and may include incorrect or offensive language. The Government of Saskatchewan does not warrant the accuracy, reliability or timeliness of any information translated by this system. Some files or items cannot be translated, including graphs, photos and other file formats such as portable document formats (PDFs).

Any person or entities that rely on information obtained from the system does so at his or her own risk. Government of Saskatchewan is not responsible for any damage or issues that may possibly result from using translated website content. If you have any questions about Google™ Translate, please visit: Google™ Translate FAQs.

Finalists Announced For Saskatchewan Tourism Awards Of Excellence

Released on March 5, 2019

Tourism Saskatchewan is pleased to announce the names of 36 finalists and three Tourism Builders for the Saskatchewan Tourism Awards of Excellence for 2018.

Nearly 90 nominations were received in the 13 award categories that acknowledge quality in marketing, service, business practices, human resource development and other areas.

The finalists and award recipients will be honoured at the 30th annual Saskatchewan Tourism Awards of Excellence Gala, which will be celebrated on April 11 at Teachers’ Credit Union Place in Saskatoon.  The gala will be held in conjunction with the HOST Saskatchewan Conference, which takes place earlier that day.  Recipients of the Tourism Builder Award will also be honoured that night.

The Tourism Builder Award recognizes individuals who have made tourism an important part of their life’s work and have helped position Saskatchewan as a welcoming destination.

“The Government of Saskatchewan is pleased to congratulate the 36 award finalists and three Tourism Builders,” Minister Responsible for Tourism Saskatchewan Gene Makowsky said.  “They demonstrate impressive leadership and unwavering commitment to providing visitors with remarkable experiences.  The gala on April 11 will be a memorable celebration of their achievements.”

“Tourism Saskatchewan considers it a privilege to host this annual assembly that acknowledges excellence in marketing, human resources, business leadership, lifetime achievement and more,” Tourism Saskatchewan CEO Mary Taylor-Ash said.  “We strive to make the Saskatchewan Tourism Awards of Excellence program relevant to tourism operators and businesses, and regularly update criteria and categories to reflect our industry.  The 2019 gala will be a special evening, marking the introduction of the first Indigenous Tourism Experience Award.”

Tickets for the Saskatchewan Tourism Awards of Excellence Gala are $120 (plus GST) or $800 (plus GST) for a corporate table of eight.  The evening will start with a networking reception at 5:30 p.m., followed by dinner service at 6:30 p.m. and the award presentations at 8 p.m.  For more information about the Saskatchewan Tourism Awards of Excellence Gala, visit Industry.TourismSaskatchewan.com.  To order tickets, contact Nancy Hubenig at 306-787-9844 or awards@tourismsask.com.

The Saskatchewan Tourism Awards of Excellence finalists for 2018 are:

Business of the Year Award
(Over 20 Full-time Employees)
Casinos Regina and Moose Jaw, Regina/Moose Jaw
Regina Exhibition Association Limited, Regina
Remai Modern, Saskatoon

Business of the Year Award
(Under 20 Full-time Employees)

Sponsored by Saskatchewan Indian Gaming Authority
Grotto Gardens Country Market, Maple Creek
Over the Hill Orchards and Winery, Lumsden
Tazin Lake Lodge, Tazin Lake

Community Event of the Year Award
Sponsored by the Saskatchewan Arts Board
Cowtown Showdown, Maple Creek
2018 Saskatchewan’s OUTBACK KCRA Rodeo, Carrot River
Taste of Maple Creek Festival, Maple Creek

Fred Heal Tourism Ambassador Award
Sponsored by Wanuskewin Heritage Park
Escape Sports, Saskatoon
Government House Historical Society, Regina
Watrous Manitou Marketing Group, Watrous

Gil Carduner Marketing Award
Sponsored by Phoenix Group
Kinder Surprises Antiques, Davidson
Scott Lake Lodge, Scott Lake
Wanuskewin Heritage Park, Saskatoon

Indigenous Tourism Experience Award

Sponsored by Saskatchewan Indian Institute of Technologies
Aski Holistic Adventures, Cumberland House
Cowtown Showdown, Maple Creek
Wanuskewin Heritage Park, Saskatoon

Marquee Event of the Year Award

Sponsored by CTV
Ag in Motion, RM of Corman Park
Congress 2018, University of Regina, Regina
WBSC Junior Men’s World Softball Championship 2018, Prince Albert

Rookie of the Year Award
Sponsored by the Saskatchewan Roughrider Football Club
Farm One Forty, Vanscoy
Poundmaker Storyteller’s Festival, Poundmaker Cree Nation
Wheatland Express, Cudworth/Wakaw

Service Excellence Award
Sponsored by the Saskatchewan Chamber of Commerce
Harvest Eatery, Shaunavon
Manitou Springs Resort and Mineral Spa, Manitou Beach
The Rockin’ Horse Cookhouse and Bar, Maple Creek

Tourism Employee of the Year Award
Sponsored by Harvard Broadcasting Regina
Brenda Peterson, Parks Canada, Grasslands National Park
Davis Hunks, 9 Mile Legacy Brewing Company, Saskatoon
Katie Willie, Wanuskewin Heritage Park, Saskatoon

Tourism Employer of the Year Award
Sponsored by Regina Airport Authority
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Conference Centre, Regina
Gold Eagle Casino, Saskatchewan Indian Gaming Authority, North Battleford
Prairie River Cruises Ltd., Saskatoon

Travel Media Award
Sponsored by Vendasta
Ashlyn George, Saskatoon
Robin and Arlene Karpan, Saskatoon
Amy Rosen, Toronto, ON

Tourism Builder Award
Sponsored by Tourism Saskatchewan
Randy Fernets, Saskatoon
Scott Ford, Saskatoon
Shann Gowan, Swift Current


For more information, contact:

Regan Mathiason
Tourism Saskatchewan
Phone: 306-787-7815
Email: regan.mathiason@tourismsask.com

We need your feedback to improve saskatchewan.ca. Help us improve