Google Translate Disclaimer

A number of pages on the Government of Saskatchewan`s web site have been professionally translated in French. These translations are identified by a yellow text box that resembles the link below and can be found in the right hand rail of the page. The home page for French-language content on this site can be found here:

Renseignements en Français

Where an official translation is not available, Google™ Translate can be used. Google™ Translate is a free online language translation service that can translate text and web pages into different languages. Translations are made available to increase access to Government of Saskatchewan content for populations whose first language is not English.

The results of software-based translation do not approach the fluency of a native speaker or possess the skill of a professional translator. The translation should not be considered exact, and may include incorrect or offensive language Government of Saskatchewan does not warrant the accuracy, reliability or timeliness of any information translated by this system. Some files or items cannot be translated, including graphs, photos, and other file formats such as portable document formats (PDFs).

Any person or entities that rely on information obtained from the system does so at his or her own risk. Government of Saskatchewan is not responsible for any damage or issues that may possibly result from using translated website content. If you have any questions about Google™ Translate, please visit: Google™ Translate FAQs.


Released on October 26, 2000

The contributions of eight remarkable Saskatchewan citizens have been

recognized at the Saskatchewan Order of Merit investiture.

The Saskatchewan Order of Merit, the province's top honour, recognizes

outstanding contributions to the greater Saskatchewan community. Lieutenant

Governor Dr. Lynda Haverstock presided over the ceremony.

The recipients are: Allan Blakeney, Premier of Saskatchewan from 1971-1982;

Lorne Dietrick, known for his work in the farm co-operative movement; Bill

Hanson, a respected consultant for Aboriginal issues; Robert Hinitt, a long-

time supporter of amateur theatre in Saskatoon; Ruth Horlick, renowned for her

community service in mental health; Dr. Krishna Kumar, a nationally and

internationally renowned neurosurgeon in Regina; world and Olympic curling

champion Sandra Schmirler; and Fred Wagman, known for his initiatives in

community broadcasting.

"It is my great privilege to invest this year's recipients with the

Saskatchewan Order of Merit," Haverstock said. "Each has enriched Saskatchewan

through contributions and achievements that represent every part of our

society. These esteemed individuals represent the talent and vision of our

province, and serve as inspiration to us all."

The first-ever Order of Merit awarded posthumously was accepted on behalf of

Sandra Schmirler by her husband Shannon England.

As well, former Lieutenant Governor Sylvia Fedoruk presented a collar of office

to Provincial Secretary Jack Hillson as a millennium gift to the Province of

Saskatchewan. Hillson then presented the collar to the lieutenant governor, to

be worn by her when conferring official honours.

The central element of the collar is a circular medallion displaying the

Saskatchewan coat of arms. The chain is composed of miniature medals of the

Saskatchewan Order of Merit and the Saskatchewan Volunteer Medal. These

elements are linked together with the red lion and the gold wheat sheaf from

the provincial coat of arms.

"The collar of office is a most appropriate and attractive addition to the

Province's ceremonial repertoire," Haverstock said. "The design of Ms.

Fedoruk's millennium gift captures the values of Saskatchewan and reflects the

pride in our past and the promise of our future. I will be proud to wear the

collar in my role as chancellor of our provincial honours."

Nominations for the Order of Merit come from the public. The Saskatchewan

Honours Advisory Council reviews all nominations and recommends recipients each

year for investiture.


For more information, contact:

Michael Jackson, Secretary

Saskatchewan Honours Advisory Council

Protocol Office


Phone: (306) 787-3109

We need your feedback to improve Help us improve