BACKGROUNDER – ECONOMIC MISSION TO SASKATCHEWAN

The October 19-23 Economic Mission to Saskatchewan builds on traditional diplomatic outreach initiatives. While diplomats and consular officials have visited Saskatchewan at the start of previous legislative sessions, this mission is much larger in terms of its programming and the number of diplomats in attendance.

Agenda Highlights

Sunday, October 19

• Diplomats arrive in Regina.

Monday, October 20

- Official opening of the economic mission involving federal Speaker Scheer, Provincial Speaker of the Legislative Assembly Dan D'Autremont and Provincial Secretary Nadine Wilson.
- Economic and sector presentations to the diplomats on:
 - Federal trade, by federal Minister of State (Foreign Affairs and Consular) Lynne Yelich;
 - Saskatchewan's economy, by provincial Economy Minister Bill Boyd;
 - Public-private partnerships, by provincial Minister responsible for Trade Jeremy Harrison;
 - International education and partnerships, by provincial Advanced Education Minister Kevin Doherty; and
 - Provincial trade, by STEP President Chad Fleck.
- Diplomats tour RCMP "Depot" Division.

Tuesday, October 21

- Diplomats participate in three economic tour options:
 - A tour of SaskPower's new carbon capture and storage facility at Boundary Dam Power Station;
 - A tour of the University of Saskatchewan with stops at the Canadian Light Source synchrotron and VIDO/InterVac; and
 - A tour of the Mosaic Company's potash mine at Belle Plaine, the Global Transportation Hub, and the Petroleum Technology Research Centre.

Wednesday, October 22

- Diplomats tour Evraz Steel and Brandt Industries.
- Diplomats attend the opening of the Legislative Assembly, including the outdoor ceremony, reading of the throne speech, and the Speaker's tea.

Thursday, October 23

• Diplomats depart Regina.

Countries Currently Represented on the Economic Mission

Afghanistan, Albania, Algeria, Andorra, Argentina, Austria, Bangladesh, Belgium, Benin, Burundi, Cameroon, China, Côte d'Ivoire, Croatia, Cuba, Denmark, European Union, Ethiopia, Finland, Gabon, Greece, Guyana, Honduras, India, Indonesia, Israel, Jamaica, Japan, Kazakhstan, Lesotho, Malaysia, Mali, Mexico, Mongolia, Nepal, Nigeria, Norway, Pakistan, Paraguay, Philippines, Romania, Rwanda, Slovenia, South Africa, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Thailand, Togo, Trinidad and Tobago, Turkey, United Kingdom, Vietnam, Yemen, Zambia, Zimbabwe