Google Translate Disclaimer

A number of pages on the Government of Saskatchewan`s web site have been professionally translated in French. These translations are identified by a yellow text box that resembles the link below and can be found in the right hand rail of the page. The home page for French-language content on this site can be found here:

Renseignements en Français

Where an official translation is not available, Google™ Translate can be used. Google™ Translate is a free online language translation service that can translate text and web pages into different languages. Translations are made available to increase access to Government of Saskatchewan content for populations whose first language is not English.

The results of software-based translation do not approach the fluency of a native speaker or possess the skill of a professional translator. The translation should not be considered exact, and may include incorrect or offensive language Government of Saskatchewan does not warrant the accuracy, reliability or timeliness of any information translated by this system. Some files or items cannot be translated, including graphs, photos, and other file formats such as portable document formats (PDFs).

Any person or entities that rely on information obtained from the system does so at his or her own risk. Government of Saskatchewan is not responsible for any damage or issues that may possibly result from using translated website content. If you have any questions about Google™ Translate, please visit: Google™ Translate FAQs.

Independent Teacher Regulatory Board Created

Released on July 2, 2015

Education Minister Don Morgan today announced that The Registered Teachers Act (the Act) has been proclaimed into force, which establishes the Saskatchewan Professional Teachers Regulatory Board (SPTRB).  Under the Act, the SPTRB will be responsible for teacher certification and discipline in Saskatchewan.  This will provide for a single, independent organization to administer the regulatory process.

“Our government is pleased that we have moved one step closer to providing Saskatchewan teachers with the same authority and responsibility as other self-regulated professions in the province, resulting in a more transparent and clear process,” Morgan said.  “The education stakeholders who have worked with us throughout this transition deserve credit for having the leadership and vision to come together and help establish the SPTRB, which will not only protect the integrity of the teaching profession but continue to protect our most valuable resource – the students.”

As part of the new legislation, a nine person board of directors has been appointed to govern the SPTRB, which is made up of seven registered teachers and two members of the public.

They are:
  • Chairman, Tom Schonhoffer (Public),
  • Robin Bellamy (Public),
  • Darrell Burko (Teacher),
  • David Carter (Teacher),
  • Christina Janzen (Teacher),
  • Tobi Tamblyn (Teacher),
  • Colleen Norris (Teacher),
  • Kyle McIntyre (Teacher), and 
  • Linda Blaser-Fiddler (Teacher).

The Minister of Education worked in consultation with the Saskatchewan Teachers’ Federation (STF), the League of Educational Administrators, Directors and Superintendents of Saskatchewan (LEADS), the Saskatchewan School Boards Association (SSBA) and the Federation of Saskatchewan Indian Nations (FSIN) in making these appointments.

“I look forward to serving the Saskatchewan Professional Teachers Regulatory Board as the Chairperson of the board of directors,” Schonhoffer said.  “The establishment of the SPTRB is an important achievement for the education system in Saskatchewan.”

“Saskatchewan teachers recognize the importance of the public trust they are granted, and are committed to high standards of conduct and care to ensure the well-being and growth of children and youth in our province,” STF President Patrick Maze said.  “The partners have worked tirelessly to create a teacher-led uniquely Saskatchewan structure that honours the public trust and will serve this province for generations to come.”

“The League of Educational Administrators, Directors and Superintendents of Saskatchewan is fully supportive of the new legislation, and has appreciated the opportunities LEADS has had for input into the legislation, and for ongoing representation on the board of directors,” LEADS President Don Rempel said.  “Good things happen for students and for the wider educational community when the major players in the province work together.”

“We are pleased that legislation has passed and we look forward to working with the parties to complete a smooth transition,” SSBA President Connie Bailey said.  “The increased transparency and clarity for students, families, teachers and the public will only strengthen our education system as a whole.”

The board of directors has named Trevor Smith as acting Chief Operating Officer.  Previous to this appointment, Smith was the Director and Certifying Official for the Ministry of Education’s Educator Services Unit.

“I am honoured to be appointed as acting COO and Registrar for the Saskatchewan Professional Teachers Regulatory Board,” Smith said.  “I look forward to working with the board of directors as we prepare the SPTRB to assume its mandate.”

Prior to the establishment of the SPTRB, the Ministry of Education was responsible for certification.  Discipline processes were administered by the STF and LEADS for their respective members.  The Ministry of Education was responsible for all other teachers.  The SPTRB is expected to be in full operation by fall 2015.


For more information, contact:

Kelly Johnston 
Phone: 306-787-1069
Cell: 306-533-7506

We need your feedback to improve Help us improve